Diesel engined battleships

Propulsion systems, machinery, turbines, boilers, propellers, fuel consumption, etc.
RF

Diesel engined battleships

Post by RF »

Does anybody know if the Germans (or anybody else) seriously considered using exclusive diesel engine drive for battleships?

I am not an engineer so I am not familiar with the precise technical requirements. However the Riechsmarine had the diesel technology to develop the Panzershiffe in 1931, is it feasible that they could have developed a diesel engine to power Bismarck by 1940/41?

I am aware that in 1942 the Germans did get a diesel engined destroyer on to the drawing board, I presume that like most other construction projects in wartime Germany they suffered from excessive bureacracy and shortages of labour and materials.

But in the early 1940s would a diesel driven battleship be a realistic proposition?
Tiornu
Supporter

Re: Diesel engined battleships

Post by Tiornu »

Yes, the best-known proposal was the "H" class.
marcelo_malara

Post by marcelo_malara »

Wasn´t Scharnhorst supposed to be powered by diesels?
Tiornu
Supporter

Post by Tiornu »

The failure to provide diesels for Scharnhorst is a good indicator of the breakdown in German naval planning. The decision to go with turbines preceded the design that we know as Scharnhorst--the original Ship D also had turbines.
Nellie

Post by Nellie »

Admiral Graf Spee had eight set of MAN diesels!
RF

Post by RF »

Graf Spee was a pocket battleship!!

Not the real article!!
RF

Re: Diesel engined battleships

Post by RF »

Tiornu wrote:Yes, the best-known proposal was the "H" class.
But the diesel engines projected weren't developed were they?

What was the largest diesel engine developed by the Germans in the war?
marcelo_malara

Post by marcelo_malara »

I think that the largest diesel engines by then were the 8000 hp from Graf Spee.
RF

Post by RF »

marcelo_malara wrote:I think that the largest diesel engines by then were the 8000 hp from Graf Spee.