Sinking of French Fleet

From the Washington Naval Treaty to the end of the Second World War.
paul.mercer

Sinking of French Fleet

Post by paul.mercer »

Gentlemen,
I'm sure this thread has been debated before, but I cannot find it so I will bring it up again.
In your expert opinions were the British justified in firing on the French Fleet, personally I think they were as they could not risk it being taken over by the Germans, but I am afraid I am not an expert!
frontkampfer

Re: Sinking of French Fleet

Post by frontkampfer »

IMO - considering its location, I doubt that would have happened. At times, I think Churchill was his own worst enemy, and this was one of them.
"I will not have my ship shot out from under my ass!"
pg55555

Post by pg55555 »

The attacks on the French Fleet (and taking over of certain units) were an unfortunate necessity as the French had already broken two solemn promises ( to NOT sign a separate peace, and to take the French Fleet fleet away from German control ).

The British couldn't allow for a third French failure.

It is a shame, but once the French allowed the French Fleet to stay in European/African ports (as opposed to sending them to a French colony in, say, the West Indies) prior to signing the treaty with Germany.

The French were in a difficult position, but by not removing the Fleet out of the immediate area they both renaged on a promise and led to future problems.

People "forget" how helpful the Vichy regime was to Germany and how little it would have taken for the fate of the French fleet to have been very different.

RF

Post by RF »

paul.mercer wrote:Gentlemen,
In your expert opinions were the British justified in firing on the French Fleet, personally I think they were as they could not risk it being taken over by the Germans,
Yes.