USS South Dakota Electrical Faults

From the Washington Naval Treaty to the end of the Second World War.
jazsa80

USS South Dakota Electrical Faults

Post by jazsa80 »

Just out of interest what are the opinions from you guys relating to the circuit breaker fault onboard SD?

It seems it was regarded as foolish for the sparkies to tie down the breakers. But can anybody think of a viable alternative?

Im an electrician by trade and can think of no real alternative. It was in the middle of a serious battle and the breakers were tripping. If I put myself in that position I think I would do the same. The captain would have been screaming for power, and to leave the breakers off and search for the fault would have taken some time and kept the whole circuit down. But, by tying the breakers down you have a chance of 'arching into isolation' the electrical fault. By that I mean that keeping the power up to the circuit would hopefully arch away the short thereby returning power to the unaffected circuits. Dodgy as hell but what was the alternative?

Does anybody know the exact cause of the tripping breakers? I dont and cant find it anywhere.
Tiornu
Supporter

Re: USS South Dakota Electrical Faults

Post by Tiornu »

Maybe you can find it in the Action Report of USS Massachusetts for the action off Casablanca. She managed to perform her duties, duel with Jean Bart, and help crush an enemy torpedo charge despite her electrical issues without anyone tyng down any circuit breakers.
jazsa80

Post by jazsa80 »

Any idea where I can find that report?
Bgile

Post by Bgile »

jazsa80 wrote:Just out of interest what are the opinions from you guys relating to the circuit breaker fault onboard SD?

It seems it was regarded as foolish for the sparkies to tie down the breakers. But can anybody think of a viable alternative?