Bismarck/Tirpitz construction & framing model

Talk about your projects, exchange ideas, tips, colors, etc.
madaboutbismarck

Bismarck/Tirpitz construction & framing model

Post by madaboutbismarck »

Hello fellow Bismarck enthusiasts

I am a regular reader of this site and, a couple of others, I am wanting to request some help, in a huge project that I undertook 2 years ago.
I am a Marine designer and draughtsman, and come from a family heavily involved in the Shipping and marine field
2 Years ago I started collecting plans of Bismarck and Tirpitz from the various sources around the world, eg Bundesarchive, US national archives etc, in order to take on the mammoth job of building the ship as a 3d model, I know there are some very good models in 3d out there, however this one has a different purpose, it is a complete model, it has all framing, stringers Longitudinals, bulkheads, everything, and is also internally fitted out.
It is possible to examine every aspect of the ships construction, and to do walkthroughs of the ship, anywhere.
The way I have tackled this Is to start with the original lines plan, and examine all other drawings for offsets and measurements relating to the hull, also all sections, and bulkhead and longitudinal construction drawings.
These plans are then sometimes draw based on there measurements or sometimes are scanned into the 3d program I use and traced, the parts are then made into actual components and positioned in 3d space at there correct location, even lines plans are traced and all waterlines, buttocks and sections are then place in 3d space forming the skeleton of the ship.
After considerable time and tweaking of parts the whole comes together close enough to produce the hull surface, and from it can be drawn the armour plates and there recesses the openings and sea cocks, weld and rivet seams etc, then the inside.
I believe these to be very accurate, in most cases 1mm