Dunkerque V Kongo

Historical what if discussions, hypothetical operations, battleship vs. battleship engagements, design your own warship, etc.
Gary

Dunkerque V Kongo

Post by Gary »

How do these 2 match up?

They seem pretty even in most aspects.
Which one is your money on?

Merry Christmas.
God created the world in 6 days.........and on the 7th day he built the Scharnhorst
lwd

Re: Dunkerque V Kongo

Post by lwd »

Weren't the Kongo's extensivly modernized at one point? I assume you are talking about them in their WWII configuration. I'm far from an expert in regards to either of these ships but the French gun had some pretty impressive stats. I'm not sure about it dispersion. Just looking at the main armament the French gun has a burster of ~20 kg vs 11kg for the Japanese gun But the latter out weights the former 560kg to 673kg (all this from navweapons site). Teh Japanese are also credited with 2rpms vs 1.5-2 for the French. Not sure how important that is. Defintily range dependent however. The French round is traveling a lot faster at all ranges at 10,000 meters its 689m/s to 576m/s for instance. This should be to the French advantage in a close fight as far as hitting and penetrating goes. The French ship is also newer and may have better armor and/or a better armor scheme.

My first guess is advantage France in this contest.
WestPhilly

Post by WestPhilly »

I'm thinking the more modern - with particular regard to damage control - and more powerfully armed Dunkerque prevails in this contest. Her better protected sister-ship, Strasburg for sure.
RF

Post by RF »

Was the Dunkerque deployed to the Far East after the German surrender? I know that Richelieu was used in the bombardment of the Japanese coastline.

Such an action as proposed here would be interesting, I think a lot would hinge on the quality of the French gunnery, and my money, subject to that caveat, would be on the French.
''Give me a Ping and one Ping only'' - Sean Connery.
Tiornu
Supporter