Hello all.

Anything else you want to talk about.
JustinT

Hello all.

Post by JustinT »

Im Justin, im an apprentice mechanic in Grande Prairie, a smaller city in Alberta Canada. i've long been an admirer of ww2 warships, paticularly battleships, and as a kid i long had a fascination with both the Bismark and Titanic, the former from first watching the old black and white movie Sink the Bismark!. anyway, i will be posting, quite a few topics here that got my interest.
Karl Heidenreich

Post by Karl Heidenreich »

Hi JustinT:

I share with you the fascination for those both ships (and some others). Welcome.

Kind regards...
An appeaser is one who feeds a crocodile, hoping it will eat him last.
Sir Winston Churchill
RF

Re: Hello all.

Post by RF »

Welcome to the forum Justin.

But don't forget that the little ships, such as the cruisers and destroyers, can be as important as the big battlewagons. Operation Rheinubung would have turned out very differently had Prinz Eugen not been in company with Bismarck......
''Give me a Ping and one Ping only'' - Sean Connery.
lwd

Post by lwd »

I'm not sure I'd call the Eugen a little ship but concur with the sentement.

Welcome aboard, feel free to jump in to the conversations or ask questions.
RF

Post by RF »

lwd,

What I was alluding to was the Eugen influencing the DS battle - if Bismarck was alone Hood would have fired on the right ship and if, as likely, Bismarck was hit early on by Hood, things could have turned out very different.
lwd

Post by lwd »

Oh no question that cruisers played important parts in WWII indeed a case can be made for them being more important than BBs. It's just that I don't consider cruisers to be small. Indeed look how often they were confused with BBs and vice versa. Indeed Denmark straights sis a prime example.
RF

Post by RF »